New Year.

2019. The current year is 2019. Just let that sink in. I still remember celebrating 2000 with just my mom at home, decked out with our New Year’s glasses and streamers. Eating snacks and waiting for the ball to drop. Precious memories like that seem to come and go quicker and quicker as the years go on. Times like that I try not to take for granted anymore.

I think when you’re younger you can’t fully conceptualize time. Time is viewed differently by people, but especially by different age groups. The older I get, the more I realize how fast time goes by. And I’m not going to lie; going into this new year,  I was both thrilled and depressed. Anyone else? I always look at the new year as a time for reflection, a time for change and a time to grow and better myself. I  jot down a list of small and long term goals to work on for the new year and feel satisfied with myself. However, I’ve also begun realizing how fast time is slipping by. And that scares the hell out of me.

This year I will turn 30. But as I’m growing older, so is everyone around me. My siblings are in their late teens now. My parents in their 50s. My Grams, bless her soul, will be 90 this year. I am so thankful that she is around. But it saddens me, thinking of getting old and time going by. There are wonderful memories I have with people that I won’t ever get to have again. I’m also trying to figure my life out still. At 30, you have a rough idea of things, but you don’t have it all figured out. I have a job I actually like, that doesn’t give me massive anxiety and pays pretty decent. If I want to get anywhere though, I need to strive for more.

So, going into this new year, I had mixed emotions. More so than any other year. The big 3-0 coming this year has me in overdrive trying to figure out how to map out my life. But I’ve also realized you have to slow down and enjoy things too because every single moment you have today, you won’t ever get that exact moment back. I think finding the balance is essential to happiness.

Going into this new year, I want to remain positive as much as possible. I suffer from anxiety, so this is easier said than done sometimes. But stress can really be a killer. Stress contributes to so many mental and physical issues. I intend to work on learning how to adapt and react better.

I also want to become fluent in another language. I don’t know if its the writer in me, but I’ve always been fascinated with words and language expression. I’ve decided I want to become fluent in Italian. I took five years of it in junior high and high school. Regrettably, I never stuck with it though after that. This year, I want to study Italian again. Not sure if I’ll be able to become fluent within the year, but I will work toward that goal.

Fitness and health are always big for me. I want to continue to eat healthy and live a healthy lifestyle. I don’t want to take for granted my ability to workout. I want to try to gain more muscle mass this year and stick with my routine consistently. Plus, working out is a great stress reliever and releases endorphins.

Another goal of mine is to get engaged, but that is not just up to me. Hopefully this year! I want to continue to not only personally grow, but grow with my boyfriend and grow in our relationship. Something that I’ve realized is that you need to love yourself and continue growing individually if you want your relationship to succeed.

I want to keep this blog going with new content weekly in the new year. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. I also want to start writing a book as well. Just having some trouble with coming up with specifics.

Well, this turned into more of a ramble than a post. Just wanted to share some reflections I’ve been having and my goals for the new year.And to remind everyone to love life, cherish this day and be thankful for wonderful family and friends you have. Never give up. Hold your head high and keep striving for what you want in life. You’ll never know how far you can go if you don’t try. Life doesn’t wait for you. Life keeps happening. No better time to start than today. Off to start working on my goals! Sending positive vibes to all. 

Leave a comment